Accounting Jorge Linars' Disappointing First-Round Loss Against Pablo Cesar Cano In His 50th Pro-Fight

January 19, 2019
First published on:January 19, 2019
by Robert Stewart

Pablo Cesar Cano shockingly won over the former two-weight world champion Jorge Linares in the very first round. After getting knocked down twice, early into the first round, the referee stepped in before 12 seconds to first bell, seeing Jorge in serious trouble.

 

The crowd at Madison Square Garden was as surprised after Linars' 50th professional bout ended in a disastrous Knock-out loss. Further, his current loss has also shattered his super-light world title shot chances.

Linars' first knockdown came only fifteen seconds in the first round after Cano flushed his hard-right- hand on Jorge. Although Linares was fast up, it only got worse for him.

Though he tried to fight fire with fire, his loss was legitimated as Cano switched to a vicious left hook to reassemble it less than a minute later, Cano landed another brutal right- hand.

Pablo Cano's right hand was well exposed on 19th January and everyone is finally accepting that The Mexican star's biggest weapon was his right, after Linard stumbled on the ropes, with his third contact, he was able to solidify the fight with a first-round win over heavy fan favorite Jorge Linars.

After the fight, Jorge Linars in a post-fight interview with DAZN said:

"He surprised me with that big right hand. He's got power, he can punch, so he surprised me in the first round, Five pounds is so different but before that, at 135, I was better and better. Now I've moved up to 140, it's hard for me, right now."